Self Reflection

Posted on

REFLECTION AS A CHAIRPERSON

USING KORTHAGEN’S CYCLE

 

STEP 1: ACTION

For this module i was a chairperson together with Gijs and Laura and the module we had to present was module 3. We got each other’s numbers and formed a group chat on the social media, so as to discuss about the module and what it entails. Later on we came together and discussed more and printed out the exercises we were going to share in class. We delegated responsibilities among ourselves. We thought of ways to make the class interesting and important topis to ask in order to have everyones input. After all this i realised i had great team members because i had the opportunity to work with nice and intelligent people and they really had great ideas.

 

STEP 2: LOOKING BACK ON THE ACTION

When i first realized that was going to be a chairperson, i felt very uncomfortable and weary because i do not like speaking in public. Going through the module it really helped me and improved my studying techniques. It learnt new ways of studying. Luckily for my group we had a topic that was pretty much about studying generally, with the questions we prepared for the section and the way we asked it, everyone had something to say. At first as i said earlier on, it was not easy for me because i was nervous and this made me forget somethings i was supposed to say, but later on with the help of my team mates i relaxed a little bit and went with the flow. I thought we did pretty good actually.

 

STEP3: AWARENESS OF ESSENTIAL ASPECT

For the learning sessions in general and the topics in the modules after attending and studying, i realizes it made a positive impact in my studies and everyday life. For example before i was not much of a planner i just take the day as it goes, but after the module on planning i started making plans for the present and future and it is very good. I also need to improve on my participation in class, even though i don’t like speaking publicly i need to really work on this. This course has made me develop lots of skills which will be of great use to me in the future.

 

STEP 4: ALTERNATIVE METHODS

For being unable to speak in the public, i think i need to be more open and courageous and maybe by speaking to different people. This will help me to be more open and participate fully in classes.

 

STEP 5: TRAIL

The reason for studying IBM is to become an entrepreneur. To achieve this i need to work on my social skills because developping good social skills should be done by good practising and also by studying. I also need to improve my network skills and putting what i have learnt to good use in order to be a good manager/entrepreneur.

 

 

Leave a Reply

